Bentonite vs
Pond Liner
Seven lining methods compared on what the standards actually require and what the measurements actually show. Every number carries its source, primary sources are distinguished from consumer cost estimates, and the figures nobody publishes are listed as gaps instead of guessed at.
Two Different Kinds
of Liner
The comparison is usually framed as clay versus plastic, which obscures the actual distinction. A compacted soil liner — with or without bentonite amendment — is part of the soil structure. A geomembrane is a manufactured sheet laid on top of it. Everything else follows from that.
- Different governing standards. Compacted soil treatment falls under NRCS Conservation Practice Standard 520P. Sheet products and GCLs fall under CPS 521P, which sets minimum thickness by polymer, requires installer certification, and mandates 12 inches of cover soil over PVC and GCLs.
- Different failure logic. A soil liner degrades in a distributed way — desiccation cracks, uneven mixing, loss of confinement. A sheet fails at discrete defects, and its real-world leakage is set by hole count, not by the polymer's permeability. Giroud and Bonaparte's widely cited figure is about 1 hole per acre with good quality assurance and 10 or more per acre with poor quality assurance IGSP.
- Different repair economics. Sodium bentonite reseals itself when rewetted; EPA reports self-sealing of holes up to 75 mm in GCL testing EPAP. A geomembrane is patched, and until it is, flow through a quarter-inch hole under one foot of head runs on the order of 1,000 gallons per day liner literature reviewP.
- Different labor. A soil liner is built by the earthwork crew already on site. HDPE requires thermal welding technicians, a construction quality assurance program, and destructive seam testing Hinkley CenterP.
One surprise worth knowing up front. CPS 520 does not state a numeric permeability requirement for compacted soil liners at all. It requires the liner to meet a design specific discharge documented by laboratory permeability testing NRCSP. The 1 × 10−7 cm/s figure people quote comes from compacted clay liner engineering practice MIT OCWP, not from the NRCS pond standard.
Seven Methods,
Side by Side
P Primary source — government agency, standards body, university, peer-reviewed or conference research, or a manufacturer technical datasheet.
A Aggregator — consumer cost-estimating site. Useful for market pricing, not for engineering values.
| Attribute | Bentonite-amended compacted soil | Compacted native clay, no amendment | GCL (geosynthetic clay liner) | HDPE geomembrane | RPE (reinforced polyethylene) | EPDM rubber | PVC geomembrane |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Governing standard | CPS 520 — sodium bentonite, free swell ≥ 22 mL by ASTM D5890 NRCSP | Falls under CPS 520 as compacted soil without amendment | CPS 521 — minimum bentonite mass 0.75 lb/ft² NRCSP | CPS 521 NRCSP; GRI-GM13 formulation spec | CPS 521 lists PE-R; not recommended for waste storage NRCSP | CPS 521 NRCSP | CPS 521 NRCSP |
| NRCS minimum thickness | Finished liner 12″ (≤16 ft deep), 18″ (16–24 ft), 24″ (24–30 ft); lifts ≤ 6″ NRCSP | Engineering practice: ~2 ft in 6″ lifts MIT OCWP | 0.75 lb/ft² bentonite minimum; manufacturers typically use 1 lb/ft² EPAP | 60 mil wastewater / 30 mil clear water NRCSP | 36 mil clear water NRCSP | 45 mil for both wastewater and clear water NRCSP | 40 mil wastewater / 30 mil clear water NRCSP |
| Permeability | CPS 520 states no numeric cm/s target — it sets a design specific discharge and requires lab permeability testing NRCSP. Saturated bentonite as a material: < 1 × 10−9 cm/s EPAP | Design objective K ≤ 10−7 cm/s, but “field experience showed that K often exceeded 10−7 cm/s despite good lab tests if soil was not wet of optimum” MIT OCWP | Product spec 5 × 10−10 cm/s max by ASTM D5887 CETCO TDSP. Across products 1 × 10−5 to < 1 × 10−12 cm/s, the poor end being unhydrated or poorly confined material EPAP. Regulatory models assume decay to 5 × 10−8 cm/s over 500 years from divalent cation replacement US NRCP | Intact sheet modeled at 5 × 10−15 cm/s vertical US NRCP. In practice leakage is governed by defects, not the sheet: Giroud & Bonaparte report ~1 hole per acre with good QA/QC and 10 or more with poor QA/QC IGSP | Manufacturer datasheets disagree by ~3 orders of magnitude: 7.2 × 10−11 cm/s stated Dura-Skrim TDSP versus 1.46 × 10−14 cm/s back-calculated from moisture-vapor transmission NovaLiner TDSP. The difference is method of derivation, not material | No cm/s value published. Datasheets report water-vapor permeability instead: 2.0 perm-mils max by ASTM E96 at 45 and 60 mil PondGard TDSP | No PVC-specific cm/s value was found on any manufacturer datasheet or agency source in this research pass |
| Service life | No published design life. NRCS treats it as maintained infrastructure, repaired “to its original thickness and condition” NRCSP | Not sourced. No agency or university source gives a service life | No numeric life stated; “remains durable for long periods of time” EPAP. Exhumed after 5 years under 0.66 m cover: swell index 32 → 32–34 mL, k essentially unchanged GCL field studyP | Covered, formulated to GRI-GM13: predicted halflife 446 yr at 20 °C, 69 yr at 40 °C. Exposed in a dry arid climate: > 36 yr, testing ongoing GSI / EPAP. Consumer sources list 20–25 yr AngiA | Manufacturer: “up to 20 years of exposure depending upon the geographical location” Dura-Skrim TDSP. Consumer sources list 20–40 yr AngiA | > 27 yr exposed predicted per GRI-GM21, and 20-year warranties “appear to be justified”; under cover, no reported failures of EPDM or CSPE GSI / EPAP. Consumer sources 20–30 yr AngiA | Exposed: North American formulation halflife ~18 yr; a European high-molecular-weight-plasticizer formulation > 32 yr GSI / EPAP. Buried: “forensic studies show the liner to be in excellent condition after 30 years of burial” FGIP. Consumer sources 7–15 yr AngiA |
| Self-healing | Yes — swells and gels into voids; in GCL testing a hole up to 75 mm self-seals EPAP | No — relies on compaction, not swelling; ordinary clays lack the swelling capacity of sodium bentonite MU ExtensionP | Yes — a hole up to 75 mm in diameter will seal itself EPAP | No — flow through a ¼″ hole under 1 ft of head is on the order of 1,000 gal/day liner reviewP | No — no source claims RPE self-heals | No — repair is by patching AngiA | No |
| Cover soil required | Not required (the liner is the soil) | Not required | Yes — 12″ minimum soil cover NRCSP | Not required by CPS 521, but cover-soil particle size is capped at 3/8″ where used NRCSP | Not required | Not required, but an underlayment is normally specified, at $0.25–$0.40/ft² HomeGuideA | Yes — 12″ minimum soil cover NRCSP |
| UV / exposure behavior | Not a polymer — the exposure risk is desiccation cracking, which CPS 520 requires protection against NRCSP | Desiccation cracking and freeze-thaw reaggregation are the documented K-increasing mechanisms MIT OCWP | Not designed for exposure; requires cover soil NRCSP | Carbon black and UV stabilizers are formulated in; 8,000 h UV-fluorescent basis in GRI-GM13, ~1,200 light hours ≈ one year in a hot climate GSI / EPAP | Reinforced construction moves less with temperature than unreinforced LLDPE or HDPE FGIP | Strong: after 2,000 h xenon-arc at 80 °C, 90% of tensile break strength and 75% of elongation retained; no cracks after 7-day ozone exposure PondGard TDSP | The weakest of the common options when exposed — see the ~18-year North American halflife GSI / EPAP |
| Crew & certification | Standard earthwork. Disc harrow or tiller, sheepsfoot or rubber-tired roller, ~6″ layers; no welding certification exists or is required MU ExtensionP | Standard earthwork; sheepsfoot roller exerts ~40× the pressure of rubber-tired equipment MU ExtensionP | Rolls placed with earthmoving equipment, plus overlap discipline and immediate cover; manufacturers and some engineering firms train installers, no mandatory certification stated EPAP | Specialized. Thermal welding crews, CQA program, destructive seam samples ~1 per 500 ft of seam, vacuum-box testing, placement between 40 and 104 °F; “the installer should be the manufacturer or an approved installer” Hinkley CenterP. IAGI certifies welding technicians IAGIP | Field seams welded or taped per the manufacturer; NRCS requires the installer or manufacturer to certify the installation NRCSP | Panels factory-fabricated and field-seamed with tapes or adhesives; NRCS installer certification applies NRCSP | Fabricated panels field-seamed; 80% fewer field seams than polyethylene FGIP; plus the earthwork for 12″ of cover soil |
Scroll the table horizontally to see all seven methods.
What the Cost Data
Actually Supports
No primary source publishes 2025–26 installed cost per square foot by liner material. Not NRCS, not EPA, not any state agency we could find. Everything below is consumer-aggregator market pricing, and it is material only unless noted. Anyone quoting you a confident per-square-foot installed comparison across materials is extrapolating.
| Material | HomeGuide $/ft² | Angi $/ft² | Angi service life (yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Clay / bentonite | 0.20 – 5.00 (clay liner 0.50 – 3.00) | — | — |
| HDPE | 0.30 – 0.60 | 0.40 – 1.30 | 20 – 25 |
| PVC / vinyl | 0.30 – 0.90 | 0.50 – 1.50 | 7 – 15 |
| RPE | 0.40 – 0.90 | 0.90 – 2.00 | 20 – 40 |
| EPDM rubber | 0.75 – 2.00 | 0.70 – 2.30 | 20 – 30 |
| Concrete / cement | 50 – 130 installed | 60 – 120 | 30+ |
| Underlayment (PVC & EPDM need it) | 0.25 – 0.40 | — | — |
Sources: HomeGuide — Pond Liner CostA and Angi — Pond Liner CostA. HomeGuide also gives a blended installed range of $0.50–$3.50/ft², or $10,000–$22,500 for one acre.
Three costs that per-square-foot liner pricing leaves out
- Cover soil. NRCS requires 12 inches of soil cover over PVC and over GCLs CPS 521P, with cover-soil particle size capped at 3/8 inch for geomembranes and 1/2 inch for GCLs. That is a real earthwork line item, and on a screened-material site it is not a small one.
- Underlayment. PVC and EPDM normally need one, at $0.25–$0.40/ft² HomeGuideA.
- Certified installation. CPS 521 requires the installer or manufacturer to certify the installation and requires plans to state minimum installer qualifications NRCSP. For HDPE that means welding crews, destructive seam samples roughly one per 500 feet of seam, and vacuum-box testing Hinkley CenterP. A bentonite-amended soil liner is placed by the same crew already moving dirt on the site, and no welding certification exists or is required for it.
Bentonite material cost, shown as arithmetic
At CPS 520 rates for a 4-inch amended liner over silty sand — 0.5 lb/ft² per inch × 4 inches = 2 lb/ft² NRCS Table 3P — bulk-sack pricing works out to roughly $0.60–$1.44/ft² in material at $0.30–$0.72/lb, before freight, mixing, and compaction. That is derived arithmetic from published list prices, not an installed quote. Freight is the variable that dominates: as HomeGuide puts it, lining with bentonite is cost-prohibitive if it is not locally sourced, because it is heavy and costly to transport HomeGuideA. Run your own quantities with the bentonite calculator, then ask us for a delivered freight quote — that number is the one that decides the comparison.
Not All Bentonite
Is Sodium Bentonite
If you choose the bentonite route, the deposit matters more than the price per ton, and the federal survey record is unusually blunt about it. From USGS Professional Paper 1522P:
- “The best grade swelling bentonite occurs in the Mowry Shale of Cretaceous age in Wyoming and Montana.”
- “Montana, Wyoming, and South Dakota, [are] the only source of sodium-bentonite in the United States.”
- “The most abundant nonswelling bentonite is found in Tertiary formations of the Jackson and Claiborne Groups in Texas.”
- “The sodium or Wyoming bentonite is a high swelling variety… The calcium or southern bentonite is a low- or nonswelling variety.”
The Wyoming State Geological SurveyP adds that Wyoming bentonite “can swell up to 16 times its original size and absorb up to 10 times its own weight in water,” with the best material in the Upper Cretaceous Mowry Shale. That is the geological reason regionally sourced “pond clay” so often disappoints: it can be a genuine bentonite and still be the nonswelling kind.
Chemically activated is not the same thing
Calcium bentonite can be soda-ash treated to raise its swell, and the published durability comparisons are not kind to the result. In conference literature on geosynthetic clay barriers, Wyoming natural sodium bentonite held a swell index of 35 falling only to 30 mL over 17 to 28 months of unconfined exposure, while a sodium-activated bentonite dropped from 8 to 2 mL over a comparable period. In a landfill base-seal comparison the natural product reached 3.2 × 10−11 m/s with 420-day chloride breakthrough, against 1.6 × 10−10 m/s and 41-day breakthrough for the activated material GCL bentonite studyP.
PondLock is Wyoming sodium bentonite, sun-dried rather than kiln-dried, with no additives, and it tests at a 30 mL Free Swell Index against the NRCS minimum of 22 mL.
One practical safety note
CPS 520 states that during bentonite handling, application and mixing, personnel on site must wear masks and goggles for protection against bentonite dust NRCSP. OSHA does not list bentonite by name, so the particulates-not-otherwise-regulated limits of 15 mg/m³ total and 5 mg/m³ respirable apply OSHA Table Z-1P, along with the respirable crystalline silica permissible exposure limit of 50 µg/m³ and a 25 µg/m³ action level, because sodium bentonite typically contains quartz OSHAP. This is a substantive reason to specify granular rather than powder-grade material for open-air earthwork: coarser gradation generates far less airborne dust and resists wind displacement during placement.
Where Each
Approach Wins
We sell bentonite. Here is the honest version anyway, because the comparison above supports a narrower claim than most vendors make.
Choose a bentonite-amended compacted soil liner when
- The pond is large. Sheet systems price and seam per square foot; earthwork scales better, and NRCS places no size cap on compacted soil treatment.
- Freight is manageable. Bentonite is heavy, and haul distance can decide the whole comparison.
- The subgrade is workable soil in the range bentonite serves — Missouri Extension puts that at under 50% fines with a plasticity index below 15 MU ExtensionP.
- You want a liner your own equipment can repair in ten years without a welding crew or a warranty claim.
- Self-healing matters — livestock access, wildlife, dropped equipment, future dredging.
Choose a geomembrane or GCL when
- The subgrade is fractured rock, karst, or coarse gravel where amendment rates become impractical.
- Liquid depth exceeds 24 feet — NRCS itself says to consider a composite geomembrane or GCL system there CPS 520P.
- You are containing wastewater, manure, or process liquid rather than clean water, where CPS 521 thickness minimums and lab-documented specific discharge govern.
- The schedule will not allow drying, mixing, moisture conditioning, and compaction — or the site simply has no suitable soil to amend.
- An extremely low intact permeability is the design requirement and a construction quality assurance program will actually be funded, because with a geomembrane the QA program is the performance.
If your answer is genuinely a geomembrane, we will tell you so. What we will not do is claim a self-healing mineral liner is the right choice for a 30-foot-deep wastewater lagoon.
What We Could
Not Source
Comparison pages in this industry are usually built by asserting numbers for every cell of the grid. We would rather show you the holes, because a number without a source is worse than an admitted gap — and because the gaps themselves tell you something about how thin the public data on pond liners really is.
- Hydraulic conductivity in cm/s for PVC and EPDM. No manufacturer datasheet or agency source located gives one. EPDM datasheets report water-vapor permeability instead.
- 2025–26 installed cost per ft² by liner type from any primary source. Aggregators give a blended installed range and material-only prices per material; no source separates installed cost by material.
- Service life in years for compacted soil or bentonite-amended liners. No agency or university source publishes one. NRCS states maintenance obligations instead.
- Current installed GCL cost. The only primary figure is EPA's 1994 $0.42–$0.60/ft², which is far too old to quote as a price today.
- Root-penetration ratings by material. Only Missouri Extension's warning that certain grasses can penetrate vinyl and polyethylene, EPA's note on burrowing animals and tree roots affecting GCLs, and NRCS's root-removal maintenance requirement for soil liners.
- A maximum practical project size for any method. No source states an engineering size cap. The only sourced constraints are NRCS advising a composite liner above 24 ft of liquid depth and excluding PE-R from waste storage.
- Whether the 2026 CPS 520 revision keeps the 22 mL swell index and Table 3 rates. Redline drafts exist but were not verified; every CPS 520 figure here is from the May 2016 version in force.
The single most common error in pond-liner content. NRCS states bentonite application rates per 1 inch of lift thickness (0.375–0.625 lb/ft² by soil class), while extension services and vendors usually publish total rates of 1–6 lb/ft². Those figures are not in conflict — they are different units. Trade articles routinely conflate them, which can understate a material order by a factor of four or more. Always confirm the basis before you buy.
Liner Comparison
Questions
Is bentonite better than a pond liner?
Neither is categorically better; they fail differently and cost differently. A bentonite-amended compacted soil liner is self-healing, cannot be punctured in the way a sheet can, is installed with ordinary earthwork equipment, and is repaired with more earthwork — but it requires suitable subgrade soil, careful mixing and compaction, and it is heavy to freight. A geomembrane delivers a much lower intact permeability, is unaffected by soil type, and is installed quickly — but leakage is governed by defects rather than by the sheet, it does not self-heal, and HDPE in particular requires certified welding crews and a construction quality assurance program. Choose on soil, pond size, freight distance, and who will install it.
Which pond liner lasts the longest?
On primary-source evidence, covered HDPE formulated to GRI-GM13 has the longest predicted life of the synthetics, with a modeled halflife of 446 years at 20 degrees Celsius falling to 69 years at 40 degrees Celsius. Exposed, the same material is predicted at over 36 years in a dry arid climate. EPDM is predicted at over 27 years exposed with 20-year warranties considered justified, and North American PVC has a roughly 18-year exposed halflife. No agency or university source publishes a service life for compacted soil or bentonite-amended soil liners at all — NRCS instead treats them as maintained infrastructure to be repaired to original thickness and condition.
How much does it cost to line a pond per square foot?
No primary source publishes 2025 to 2026 installed cost per square foot broken out by liner material. Consumer aggregators put blended installed lining at roughly $0.50 to $3.50 per square foot, with material-only figures of about $0.30 to $0.60 for HDPE, $0.30 to $0.90 for PVC, $0.40 to $0.90 for RPE, and $0.75 to $2.00 for EPDM. Treat those as market indications, not engineering estimates, and note that PVC and EPDM normally add an underlayment at $0.25 to $0.40 per square foot and PVC and GCL both require 12 inches of cover soil, which is real earthwork cost that per-square-foot liner pricing omits.
Does a bentonite liner really self-heal?
Yes, and it is the clearest functional difference between clay and sheet systems. The seal comes from sodium bentonite physically swelling into pore space rather than from an intact membrane, so material that is disturbed and rewetted swells again to close the gap. EPA reports that in geosynthetic clay liner testing a hole up to 75 millimetres in diameter will seal itself. A geomembrane has no equivalent mechanism — EPA-hosted literature notes that flow through a quarter-inch hole under one foot of head is on the order of 1,000 gallons per day.
What permeability does NRCS require for a pond liner?
For compacted soil treatment, none as a number. NRCS Conservation Practice Standard 520 does not state a numeric centimetres-per-second requirement; it requires the liner to be designed to a specific discharge value from the Agricultural Waste Management Field Handbook or stricter state rules, documented by laboratory permeability testing. This surprises people who expect a 1 times 10 to the minus 7 figure — that value comes from compacted clay liner engineering practice, not from CPS 520.
Can I use bentonite instead of a liner in sandy soil?
Yes, that is exactly the case bentonite amendment addresses, and NRCS publishes rates for it — 0.625 lb/ft2 per inch of lift for clean sands, the highest rate in Table 3. Two caveats matter. Missouri Extension notes bentonite is most effective on soils containing less than 50 percent fines with plasticity indices under 15, and NRCS advises considering a composite geomembrane or GCL system where liquid depth exceeds 24 feet. Very coarse gravel and fractured rock need higher rates still, and merit laboratory permeability testing on the actual soil-bentonite mixture.
Why does Wyoming bentonite matter?
Because sodium bentonite is not evenly distributed. USGS Professional Paper 1522 states that the best grade swelling bentonite occurs in the Mowry Shale of Cretaceous age in Wyoming and Montana, that Montana, Wyoming and South Dakota are the only source of sodium bentonite in the United States, and that the most abundant nonswelling bentonite is found in Tertiary formations in Texas. The Wyoming State Geological Survey adds that Wyoming bentonite can swell up to 16 times its original size. Material sourced outside those deposits is frequently calcium bentonite, which does not swell enough to seal a pond.
Is chemically activated bentonite as good as natural sodium bentonite?
The published comparisons say no. Conference literature on geosynthetic clay barriers found that under long-term unconfined exposure Wyoming natural sodium bentonite retained a swell index of 35 falling only to 30 mL over 17 to 28 months, while a soda-ash-activated bentonite fell from 8 to 2 mL over a comparable period. In a landfill base-seal comparison the natural sodium product reached 3.2 times 10 to the minus 11 metres per second with 420-day chloride breakthrough, against 1.6 times 10 to the minus 10 and 41-day breakthrough for the activated product.
Is bentonite dust dangerous to work with?
It needs to be managed. NRCS CPS 520 states plainly that during bentonite handling, application and mixing, personnel on site must wear masks and goggles for protection against bentonite dust. OSHA does not list bentonite by name; the particulates-not-otherwise-regulated limits of 15 mg/m3 total and 5 mg/m3 respirable apply, and because sodium bentonite typically contains quartz, so does the respirable crystalline silica permissible exposure limit of 50 micrograms per cubic metre with a 25 microgram action level. This is one practical reason PondLock is supplied granular rather than as a fine powder — coarser material generates far less airborne dust and resists wind displacement during open-air placement.